Vacation 1953

While sorting through some old photos yesterday, I came across a group of faded black and white 3×3 snapshots. They were photos I didn’t recall seeing before. I decided that they must had belonged to my aunt Imogene. I’m not certain how I ended up with them but they were tucked into an envelope with other, unrelated family photos.

Except for one, their reverse sides were blank. But on that one, in my aunt Imogene’s handwriting was the note: 1953 Vacation going to Bandon, Or., pictures taken at Colo. Springs Colo.  That was it.

The group passed through Dodge City, apparently, where they visited the legendary Boot Hill.

I looked more closely. I recognized my aunts Lavetta, Oleta and her husband, Joe, Imogene and her husband, Jim, and my uncle Austin.  In 1953, they would have been in their 30s and late 20s. Uncle Austin might have just been back from the Korean War, as was my Uncle Joe who had already served in World War II. I am not certain that my aunt Lavetta was married yet. Were they traveling out to attend my aunt Phyllis’ wedding in Bandon, I wondered? Bandon was where my Grandma had moved after leaving Missouri where all her children were born and grew up.

Where did they stop for this picnic? Was it lunch or dinner? Why the ketchup bottle?

How special to look back at the aunts and uncles I knew and loved. They were so young, so unaware of what was yet to come in life, having so much fun in these photos. The photos of them picnicking especially drew me in.  They sat together lunching, I’d guess, at a tablecloth-covered picnic table, drinking bottles of Coca-Cola and eating fried chicken. If they were travelling, the chicken was probably cold. A bottle of ketchup stood square in the middle of table. Did they have french fries too? I would have guessed that had potato salad but ketchup didn’t fit.

After the picnic, they took time to relax before hitting the road or at the end of their day?

I love looking at my aunts dressed in their short-sleeved cotton camp shirts tucked neatly into Capri pants. And I studied the shoes that they had kicked off to relax on a blanket that had been tossed on the grass after the picnic. They seemed in no hurry to get to their Oregon destination in these pictures.

Before boarding the funicular to ride to the top for a view of the Royal Gorge, my aunts and uncle stop for a photo.

They took time to go up the funicular at the Royal Gorge, or so it appears from one of the photos.  It looks as if they stopped at the Norbeck Wildlife Preserve, a 35,000-acre preserve in South Dakota where the photo of their backsides was made as they stood reading the preserve’s marker. Maybe that’s where the photo of the two married couples on the trip standing in an otherwise nondescript country was taken.

The small portion of the sign on the wall told me that my aunts and uncles had stopped at the Norbeck Wildlife Preserve on their drive to Bandon.

I studied the photos, trying to glean a story about their trip from them. As I did, I thought of my mother who, after retiring, spent a good portion of her time putting our family’s photos into albums and labelling many of them. It made me think why it is we take photos such as these on our various travels and what they bring and tell us when, years afterwards, we go back to look and remember those sojourns. In this case, I had only the photos from which to construct a story. How I would have liked to have asked them questions about that trip had I known about it before finding these visual memories.

Where was this taken? There’s no clue to tell me. But I laughed at the matching pants worn by my aunts.

My aunt’s photos made me think of my own travel photos and why I take photographs when I travel. Will my photos one day be discovered for someone else to enjoy, to relive the moment I did, to wonder how I felt, where I was going, what I did? More than just a testament that ‘I was there’, photographs like these found on a rainy Saturday  can take you back in time, can cause you to revisit the day, to remember the people you love, the places they went and the fun they shared.

5 thoughts on “Vacation 1953

  1. Cheryl, this is lovely. Poignant. I think these photos mean more and more to us as time goes by. I recently reconnected with friends I had not seen for about 35 years. They sent me pictures of their wedding (Including me and Sarah) and of an office picnic (including families, so Sarah was there too), when we worked together. I was amazed to see these images of a time and places I had long forgotten. I felt that they had given me back a piece of my life.

  2. Picnics and road trips. They were a part of my growing up and these pictures reminded me of a simpler time. Such a contrast to our great distances that separate families and our busy lives that make such leisurely travel today a rarity.

    1. I’ve always loved picnics. They bring back so many memories. At the time of this trip, I’m not certain where everyone lived but eventually, one of my aunts and uncles ended up in Illinois, Oregon and my hometown in Kansas. Family vacations became trips to visit all the relatives who lived so far away. HM., maybe material for another blog post…

  3. This comment came to me from Gary via e-mail but it is such a delightful memory that I wanted to share it with you too… Thanks to everyone e-mailing me with your own memories of picnics and vacations.
    Cheryl

    I can only remember ONE “vacation” our family took, in 1957, out to Stockton, CA to visit my dad’s brother, Jack. Dad had made him a really neat coffee table, and the legs/base was strapped to the top of the Ford station wagon, and Nancy and I were in charge of watching to see that the didn’t fall off…. well, they did. Dad had to buy some ready made legs, which was sad. I was only 6, and felt incredibly a failure! 🙂

Leave a Reply

