Fair Enough

Although summer is fading quickly here in the Pacific Northwest, the annual Washington State Fair is just getting underway.  It’s a huge event with lots to see and do.  I’m not planning to go but I went to the Northwest Washingtonl Fair in August in Lynden.

Now I know where George Lucas got his inspiration for the character of Jar-Jar Binks in "Star Wars."  This little Nubian goat has a face just like him!
Now I know where George Lucas got his inspiration for the character of Jar-Jar Binks in “Star Wars.” This little Nubian goat has a face just like him!

I had not been to the fair for a few years and had forgotten how much fun it is just to stroll through the animal barns and look at all the horses, cows, sheep,pigs, goats, rabbits, chickens, and ducks.  It’s a great little fair, manageable in size but still with lots of variety of things to do.

My friend and fellow blogger, LaVera, entered this cake in last year's Northwest Washington Fair.  She took first place, to no one's surprise.
My friend and fellow blogger, LaVera, entered this cake in last year’s Northwest Washington Fair. She took first place, to no one’s surprise.

Besides the livestock exhibits, there are all the 4-H exhibits.  Last year, my friend and fellow blogger, LaVera, took first place in the cake decorating competition. You can read about her cake’s adventure at the fair on her blog, Tea with LaVera at:  http://teawithlavera.blogspot.com/2012/08/the-lynden-fair.html

When my sons were little, we rarely missed a chance to take them to the fair.  They loved looking at the animals but also hopped on some of the carnival rides that were there.  The carnival still attracts a huge number of younger fairgoers but except for the carousel and ferris wheel–my two personal favorites–I tend to skip it altogether.

The ferris wheel is one of my favorite carnival attractions to both photograph and ride.
The ferris wheel is one of my favorite carnival attractions to both photograph and ride.

The fair also has a number of stages where local and touring music groups perform for audiences who welcome the chance to sit a bit and listen while they rest up.  Headline performers take the stage set up in the arena where a stadium full of people come to see them.  The demolition car derby also always seems to be a big draw.

I love the colors of the carousel that blur together as horses and riders go round.
I love the colors of the carousel that blur together as horses and riders go round.

And of course, there is always plenty to eat.  The line at the Lynden Dutch Bakery’s booth for the poffertjes–a traditional Dutch treat that resemble small, fluffy better pancakes, was long as usual.  I opted instead for a ‘Moo-wich’, the biggest ice-cream sandwich I’ve ever seen made with ice cream from the local Edeleen Dairy packed between two chocolate chip cookies concocted by the locally owned Woods Coffee.  I could hardly get my mouth around it, but I managed.

The great thing about the Northwest Washington Fair is that you can easily go and spend just a few hours or an evening, as I did.  It also provided me with some fun photo opportunities as I wandered around.   If you go next year, or if you go to the state fair taking place during the next two weeks, be sure to take your own camera and take a tip from me, go hungry!

You can view more of my fair images on my Portfolio page.

3 thoughts on “Fair Enough

  1. Going to the fair was also a must when our children were young. They would save their money so that they would have extra to splurge with. It has been a few years since I have gone to a fair. With the N.Y. State fair just a few miles away I have no real excuse, as I always enjoy the time spent. Perhaps next year.

Leave a Reply

