Snow Falling on Desert Mountain

I hadn’t planned to post yet another piece on my blog this week, but the snow that fell in the Arizona desert cancelling the day of PGA play in Tucson and making national news was just too much to resist.

I once lived in Phoenix where I worked as an arts reviewer and editor for the then Scottsdale paper and the Arizona Republic.  Can’t say that I ever recalled it snowing in the “Valley of the Sun” during the five years that I resided there but there was always plenty of the white stuff further north on the Colorado Plateau.  I think Sedona’s red rocks are even more gorgeous when trimmed in snow. And the Grand Canyon is absolutely spectacular when it looks like a beautiful Boston creme layer cake.

Snow tires aren't very common in Phoenix and neither are snow plows so driving on any roads covered with snow there can be hazardous with even a tiny bit of snow.
Snow tires aren’t very common in Phoenix and neither are snow plows so driving on any roads covered with snow there can be hazardous with even a tiny bit of snow.

One year,  I went up in early December with my cousins for the purpose of  taking a Christmas card photo for them.  We spent the night in their camper and nearly froze.  The milk in the refrigerator did, in fact, freeze!  But I got some great pictures for them and one for my own Christmas card that year.

So many tourists just go during the summer months and miss the beauty of this time of year there.  The North Rim of the canyon is closed throughout the winter but the South Rim usually remains open.

Seldom do you see the saguaro and ocotillo cactus surrounded by white.
Seldom do you see the saguaro and ocotillo cactus surrounded by white.

The grand old log El Tovar Lodge becomes a wonderful retreat from outside.  You can cozy up by the big fireplace in the lobby and have a hot buttered rum to take off the chill.  And while I haven’t checked lately, I’ll bet the room prices are considerably less this time of year as well, making it an even more appealing destination.  But look at road conditions before you go because it can be pretty dicey and change suddenly.

The barrel cactus would be a great foundation for a snowman if it weren't so prickly!
The barrel cactus would be a great foundation for a snowman if it weren’t so prickly!

Unfortunately, none of my photos from my treks north during that time have been digitized so I can’t share those with you here.  But thought you might enjoy a few taken two years ago when snow made a guest appearance while I was visiting the Phoenix area.  The cacti always look so spectacular and statuesque in the snow!

These little desert quail looked like they were out for a good, but slippery, time.
These little desert quail were out for a good, but slippery, time.

Leave a Reply

